University of Miami Experts on Presidential Debate Topics

Environmental Issues
Foreign Politics
Health Care Issues
National Security Issues
Political Communication
Politics
Presidential History
Wartime


Environmental Issues

Environment & Public Policy - Climate Change & Global Warming
George Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-1738
ggonzal2@miami.edu

Ocean Science & Policy
Otis Brown, Ph.D.
Dean, Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 305-361-4000
obrown@rsmas.miami.edu

Ocean Science & Policy
Daniel Suman, Ph.D.
Professor of Marine Affairs and Policy
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 305-361-4685
Cell: 305-742-8762
dsurman@rsmas.miami.edu

Environmental Law & Policy
Mary Doyle, J.D.
Professor of Law and Director of the UM Center for Ecosystem Science and Policy
Office: 305-284-2986
m.doyle@miami.edu

Environmental Engineering
Fernando Miralles-Wilhelm, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Civil, Architectural and Environmental Engineering
College of Engineering
Office: 305-284-1006
fmiralles@miami.edu

Hydrogen Energy
T.Nejat Veziroglu, Ph.D.
Professor of Mechanical Engineering
College of Engineering
Office: 305-284-1601
veziroglu@miami.edu

Climate Change
Larry Peterson, Ph.D.
Associate Professor of Marine Geology
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 305-361-4692
Home: 305-279-9508
lpeterson@rsmas.miami.edu

Climate Change
Amy C. Clement, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Meteorology and Physical Oceanography
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 305-361-4846
aclement@rsmas.miami.edu

Fisheries Policy & Management
Ellen Pikitch, Ph.D.
Executive Director of the Pew Institute for Ocean Science and professor of marine biology and fisheries
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 212-756-0042
epikitch@rsmas.miami.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean
Robin Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate
Office: 305-284-8957
Cell: 305-213-0729
rrosenberg@miami.edu

Foreign Politics
(Top)

Cuban-Americans in the U.S.A.
Jaime Suchlicki, Ph.D. (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts Sciences
305-284-2822
jsuchlick@miami.edu

Foreign Affairs
Paul Crespo
Lecturer in Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-669-0217
Cell: 305-206-8161
p.crespo@miami.edu

Middle East Issues
Ira Sheskin, Ph.D.
Professor of Geography
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-6693
isheskin@miami.edu

Middle East Issues
Pete W. Moore, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-4965
Home: 305-662-7110
pmoore@miami.edu

Western European
Louise K. Davidson-Schmich, Ph.D.
(speaks German)
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-2143
davidson@miami.edu

European Union
Joaquin Roy, Ph.D. (speaks Spanish)
Director, European Union Research Institute and Co-Director of the European Union Center
Office: 305-284-3266
jroy@miami.edu

China and the UN Security Council
June Teufel Dreyer, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-2403
jdreyer@miami.edu

Russian Foreign Policy
Elise Giuliano, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-8052
egiulian@miami.edu

Asian/Chinese
Edward Dreyer, Ph.D.
Professor of History
School of Business
Office: 305-284-4120
e.dreyer@miami.edu

Latin America
Bruce Bagley, Ph.D. (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-6867
bbagley@miami.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean
Robin Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate
Office: 305-284-8957
Cell: 30-213-0729
rrosenberg@miami.edu

Health Care Issues
(Top)

Ethics of Politics
Dr. Kenneth Goodman
Director of UM's Forum for Bioethics and Philosophy
School of Medicine
305-243-5723
kgoodman@miami.edu

High Cost of Health Care
Dr. Walter Bradley
Director & Professor, Department of Neurology
School of Medicine
305-243-7519
w.Bradley@miami.edu

Obesity
Janet Brill
Professor of Exercise and Sports Science
School of Education
Office: 305-284-3024
j.brill@miami.edu

Health Care Issues
Niraj Sharma, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
School of Medicine
Office: 305-585-5954
n.sharma@miami.edu

National Security Issues
(Top)

National Security
Paul Crespo (speaks Spanish)
Lecturer in Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-669-0217
Cell: 305-206-8161
p.crespo@miami.edu

Terrorism / Security
Bruce Bagley, Ph.D. (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-6867
bbagley@miami.edu

Security
Joseph Vitale
Adjunct Professor
U.S. Navy Police Officer & Senior Marine Technician,
Rosenstiel School of Marine and Atmospheric Science
Office: 772-465-2400 ext. 492
Cell: 772-979-3698
j.vitale@miami.edu

Terrorism
A. Peter Burleigh
Visiting Distinguished Professor and Ambassador-in-Residence
Office: 305-284-3124
apburl@miami.edu

Political Communication
(Top)

Media and Politics
Sam Roberts, Ph.D.
Frances L. Wolfson Chair in Communications Studies, Broadcast and Broadcast Journalism
School of Communication
Office: 305-284-2235
sroberts@miami.edu

Media and Politics
Daniel Stevens, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
305-284-8857
d.stevens1@miami.edu

Presidential Debates
David Steinberg
Professor of Communication
305-284-5553
dave@miami.edu

Presidential Debates & Campaign Strategy
Thomas Steinfatt, Ph.D.
Professor of Communication
School of Communication
Office: 305-284-3354
tms@miami.edu

Public Persuasion
Matthew Gitkin
Assistant Professor of Theater
Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-5657
mgitkin@miami.edu

Politics and Hollywood
Paul Lazarus, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Motion Pictures/Film
School of Communication
Office: 305-284-6798
Home: 305-668-4691
plazarus@miami.edu

Spanish Media in the U.S.A.
Jaime Suchlicki, Ph.D. (speaks Spanish)
Professor of International Studies
College of Arts Sciences
305-284-2822
jsuchlick@miami.edu

Campaigns and the Internet
Allan Frank Casebier, Ph.D.
Visiting Scholar, Philosophy
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-2249
Home: 305-265-2308

Internet Blogging and the Elections
Michael Froomkin, J.D. (speaks French)
Professor of Law
School of Law
Office: 305-284-4285
a.froomkin@miami.edu

Speaking and Communications Specialist
Michael Barnes
Assistant Professor
Department of Theatre Arts
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-5688
Cell: 305-528-6799
mbarnes@miami.edu

Politics
(Top)

Political Opinion & Congressional Elections
Benjamin Bishin, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-1737
bishin@miami.edu

Campaign Financing
Frances Hill, J.D.
Professor & Director, Tax LLM
Member of the Campaign Legal Center
School of Law
Office: 305-284-2642
f.hill@miami.edu

Constitutional Issues
Donald Jones, J.D.
Professor of Law
School of Law
Office: 305-284-6314
d.jones1@miami.edu

Public Policy
George Gonzalez, Ph.D.
Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-1738
ggonzal2@miami.edu

Ethics of Politics
Kenneth Goodman, Ph.D.
Director of UM's Forum for Bioethics and Philosophy
305-243-5723
kgoodman@miami.edu

Ethics of Politics
Anthony V. Alfieri, J.D.
Professor and Director, Center for Ethics & Public Service
School of Law
Office: 305-284-2735
aalfieri@law.miami.edu

Latin America and the Caribbean
Robin Rosenberg, Ph.D.
Senior Research Associate
Office: 305-284-8957
Cell: 30-213-0729
rrosenberg@miami.edu

Public Policy
Paul Crespo (speaks Spanish)
Lecturer in Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-669-0217
Cell: 305-206-8161
p.crespo@miami.edu

Hot Button Issues
Bruce Winick, J.D.
Professor of Constitutional Law
School of Law
Office: 305-284-3031
b.winick@miami.edu

Religion and Politics
Christie K. Vila, Ph.D.
Researcher, Comprehensive Drug Research
School of Medicine
Office: 305-243-6366
Cell: 305-803-4063
cvila@med.miami.edu

Immigration and Public Policy
David Abraham, Ph.D.
Professor of Law
School of Law
Office: 305-284-5535
dabraham@law.miami.edu

Economics
Michael Connolly, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, Economics
School of Business
Office: 305-284-4898
mconnolly@miami.edu

Presidential History
(Top)

History of the American Presidency
Greg Bush, Ph.D.
Professor of History
College of Arts & Sciences
Office: 305-284-6406
gbush@miami.edu


Wartime
(Top)

Western European
Louis K. Davidson-Schmich, Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Political Science
School of Business
Office: 305-284-2143
davidson@miami.edu

World Wars and Military History
Edward Dreyer, Ph.D.
Professor of History
School of Business
Office: 305-284-4120
e.dreyer@miami.edu

Arms Control
Richard L. Williamson Jr., J.D.
Professor of International Law
School of Law
Office: 305-284-4815
Home: 305-232-4004

 

       
University of Miami
Coral Gables, Florida 33124
Telephone: 305-284-2211
Requests for information.
View Privacy Statement
  Copyright 1997-2004 University of Miami,
All Rights Reserved.
Send technical feedback.