Under the direction of Aileen M. Ugalde, vice president, general counsel and secretary of the University, the Office of General Counsel advises officials of the University of Miami on legal and regulatory issues confronting a major educational and research institution. The General Counselís office, which includes five lawyers in addition to the General Counsel, three professional staff members, and four support staff members, provides a high level of professional legal service and counsel to the University by representing and advising University administrators and staff on matters of law, and implications of business and policy decisions. Much of the work is "preventive" practice, and requires an understanding of a complex educational and research institution with medical and marine schools, and the ability to anticipate problems before they arise and counsel upper level administration in this regard. Please refer to the list of Practice Areas for more information.

Through the Office of General Counsel, the University also engages outside counsel to represent its interests for legal matters requiring specialized and expert counsel.

Please send all correspondence for attorneys and staff of the Office of General Counsel to their attention at the following address:

Office of the Vice President and General Counsel
University of Miami
1320 South Dixie Highway
Suite 1250, Locator Code 2918
Coral Gables, FL 33146

Main Number: 305-284-2700
Facsimile Number: 305-284-5063

   

Vice President, General Counsel
and Secretary of the University

Aileen M. Ugalde

305-284-4200
augalde@miami.edu

 

 

Associate Vice President and
Deputy General Counsel

Cynthia L. Augustyn

305-284-3939
caugusty@miami.edu

 

 

Assistant Vice President and
Associate General Counsel

Judd J. Goldberg

305-284-3830
jgoldberg@miami.edu

 

 

Assistant General Counsel
Helenemarie Blake

305-284-3959
hblake@miami.edu

   

Assistant General Counsel
Ayman F. Rizkalla

305-284-2700
a.rizkalla@miami.edu

   

Assistant General Counsel
Steve Stark

305-284-5934
sstark@miami.edu

 

 

   

Assistant General Counsel
Marc A. Weinroth

305-284-3857
mweinroth@miami.edu

   

Assistant Secretary and
Director of Operations

Leslie Dellinger Aceituno

305-284-2700
leslie@miami.edu

 

 

Paralegal
Ivette Cruz

305-284-3154
icruz@miami.edu

 

 

Paralegal
Lori Durham

305-284-2217
ldurham@miami.edu

 

 

Paralegal/Legal Assistant
Suzy Wechsler

305-284-3971
suzy@miami.edu

 

 

 

STAFF

 

 

 

Executive Assistant to the Vice President
and General Counsel

Ana Menzies

305-284-4200
amenzies@miami.edu

 

 

Executive Assistant
Lee Anne Skipp

305-284-4984
lskipp@miami.edu

 

Legal Assistant
Carolyn Chizzini

305-284-5382
carolync@miami.edu

 

Law Clerk
Zalyn Bajor

305-284-2700
GCinter@miami.edu