Calendar

With 5,000 years of world art, the Lowe Art Museum reaches out to the community through diverse, multi-cultural exhibitions that stimulate programming and special events throughout the year. Please note that all events take place at the Lowe Art Museum unless noted otherwise. For more information on any event call the museum at 305.284.3535.

 

September

Donation Day
Tuesday, September 2, 2014
Gallery Tour at 11 a.m. of China’s Last Empire
First Tuesdays are Donation Days. Admission is free and open to the public.

LoweDown Happy Hour
Thursday, September 4
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Welcome back UM Students, Faculty and Staff! Don’t miss a guided tour of our exhibition China’s Last Empire: The Art and Culture of The Qing Dynasty. Enjoy healthy treats from Cabot Cheese, wine by Rex Goliath, with cocktails generously provided by Bacardi. Join today and receive a full year of programming and 20% on your initial museum store purchase.

Teacher Workshop
Thursday, September 25
8 a.m. to 4 p.m.
Art & Science at UM: Ancient China meets Modern Science
Enjoy the day at UM exploring two exhibitions on campus: China’s Last Empire: The Art and Culture of the Qing Dynasty at the Lowe Art Museum, UM, and Places and Spaces: Mapping Science in multiple locations on campus. We will spend the day connecting Art, History, Science, culture and technology while exploring these exhibitions through gallery tours, videos, and interactive activities. Open to Miami-Dade County School Teachers.  To register, please contact Curator of Education Jodi Sypher at jsypher@miami.edu or 305.284.3621

Members Fall Celebration
Friday, September 12, 2014
Lecture: 7 p.m., Storer Auditorium, UM School of Business
Brian Dursum Lecture- China’s Last Empire: Art of the Qing Dynasty
Reception: 8 p.m., Lowe Art Museum

Curator Gallery Tour: China's Last Empire
Sunday, September 14, 2014
2 p.m.
Free with paid admission

Fine Art of Healthcare Workshop
Wednesday, September 17
6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

China’s Last Empire Family Day
Sunday, September 28
Noon to 4 p.m.
Join us for a celebration of Chinese Culture with art activities, scavenger hunt through the exhibition China’s Last Empire: The Art and Culture of the Qing Dynasty and family fun.

October

LoweDown Happy Hour
Thursday, October 2
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Don’t miss a guided tour of our Art Lab @ The Lowe: Conquest & Coexistence- The Cultural Synthesis of Spanish Colonial Art. Enjoy healthy treats from Cabot Cheese, wine by Rex Goliath, with cocktails generously provided by Bacardi.

Annual Recycled Book Sale

Thursday, October 2 – Sunday, October 5 

Donation Day
Tuesday, October 7, 2014
Gallery Tour at 11 a.m. of China’s Last Empire with Curator Brian Dursum
First Tuesdays are Donation Days
. Admission is free and open to the public.

Fine Art of Healthcare Workshop
Wednesday, October 8
6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

UM Family Weekend
Saturday, October 11 – Sunday, October 12

Curator Gallery Tour: China's Last Empire
Sunday, October 12, 2014
2 p.m.
Free with paid admission

The Arnold and Augusta Newman Lecture Series in Photography
Thursday, October 23
Lecture: 7 p.m., UM Field House
Speaker to be announced.
Reception: 8 p.m., Lowe Art Museum

November

Donation Day
Tuesday, November 4
Gallery Tour at 11 a.m. of Kress Collection
First Tuesdays are Donation Days. Admission is free and open to the public.

LoweDown Happy Hour
Thursday, November 6
7 p.m. to 9 p.m.
Don’t miss a guided tour of our remarkable Myrna and Sheldon Palley Pavilion for Contemporary Glass and Studio Arts collection. Enjoy healthy treats from Cabot Cheese, wine by Rex Goliath, coffee by Nestlé, with cocktails generously provided by Bacardi.

Haitian Symposium
Saturday, November 8
Dialogue: 2 p.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Reception: 4 p.m. to 6 p.m.
Free and open to the public

Beaux Arts Ball: Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
Saturday, November 8
Alfred I. DuPont Building
7 p.m. to 11:30 p.m.

UM Places and Spaces Family Day
Sunday, November 9
Noon to 4 p.m.
Free

Fine Art of Healthcare Workshop
Wednesday, November 12
6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

Museum Closed
Thanksgiving Holiday
Thursday, November 27
Friday, November 28

December

Donation Day
Tuesday, December 2
Gallery Tour at 11 a.m. of Transformative Visions / Art in Real Life
First Tuesdays are Donation Days. Admission is free and open to the public.

Donation Day
Tuesday, January 6
Gallery Tour at 11 a.m. of Transformative Visions / Art in Real Life
First Tuesdays are Donation Days. Admission is free and open to the public.