>> A Heros Welcome >> Faculty Honors    

Faculty Honors
Distinguished recognition of excellence

Grace Zhai, Ph.D., assistant professor of molecular and cellular pharmacology, has been named a Pew Scholar in the Biomedical Sciences. The prestigious honor, which recognizes early-career scientists who display “outstanding promise in research relevant to the advancement of human health,” comes with a $240,000 research award over four years. Zhai studies Drosophila, or fruit flies, which—because most of their genes are homologous to human genes—help shed light on some of the most complex diseases.

Leopoldo Raij, M.D., professor of medicine and a nationally recognized hypertension researcher, has received the 2009 Irvine Page-Alva Bradley Lifetime Achievement Award in Hypertension. The honor, sponsored by the American Heart Association, is presented annually to an individual with outstanding achievements in the field of hypertension.

Norma Sue Kenyon, Ph.D., director of the Wallace H. Coulter Center for Translational Research and the Martin Kleiman Professor of Surgery, Microbiology and Immunology, and Biomedical Engineering at the Diabetes Research Institute, has completed her fellowship with the Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine (ELAM) Program for Women at Drexel University College of Medicine in Philadelphia.

Robert Gailey, P.T., Ph.D., associate professor of physical therapy, has been honored with the American Physical Therapy Association’s Henry O. and Florence P. Kendall Award for Excellence in Practice. The award is given every year to a physical therapist who has made outstanding and enduring contributions to the practice of physical therapy.

Glen N. Barber, Ph.D., professor of microbiology and immunology and co-leader of the Viral Oncology Program at Sylvester Comprehensive Cancer Center, is co-winner of the 2009 Seymour and Vivian Milstein Award from the International Society for Interferon and Cytokine Research. The award, which recognizes exceptional contributions to the field of interferon and cytokine research, honors his work in innate immunity and virus-based approaches to cancer therapy. Hiroki Ishikawa, Ph.D., a post-doctoral associate in Barber’s lab, won the Seymour and Vivian Milstein Young Investigator Award for his research related to host defense mechanisms.